
N O T I C E! 
 ALL CONTRACTORS, BUILDERS, 
BUSINESSES AND INDIVIDUALS. 

 
You need to be aware of the illegal dumping and illegal burning laws being 
enforced by the State of Texas. The laws under which you can be prosecuted 
for dumping include The Health & Safety Code Chapter 341, Minimum 
Standards of Health Protection Measures, Chapter 343, Abatement of 
Public Nuisances and Chapter 365, Texas Litter Abatement Act. Fines 
for a first offense range from $20.00 to $200.00 up to $200.00 to $1,000.00 
fine and up to 180 days in jail. The fines and jail time can be a per day 
offense. In other words if you are requested to abate illegal dumping and do 
not for 10 days you can be fined 10 times the original fine. You cannot 
dump on your own land or allow anyone else to dump on your land for 
commercial purposes unless you have a permitted municipal solid waste 
landfill. You cannot dig a ditch and fill it with construction material! 
 
The illegal burning laws are contained within the Texas Water Code § 
7.177 and 30 Texas Administrative Code 111 (B) Outdoor Burning. 
These fines can range from $1,000.00 to $50,000.00 and up to 6 months in 
jail for an individual. Contractors, Builders, Businesses, etc. can not burn 
construction waste/debris period. The material must be hauled to a licensed 
municipal solid waste landfill. As you can see the penalties can be very 
expensive and you could incur jail time. So you need to be aware of and 
follow these laws. 
 
Medina County does and will continue to enforce these laws. If you have 
any questions please contact Medina County @ 830-741-6195.  
Thank you for your cooperation. 
 
Pat E. Brawner  OS8878 
 
 
  


